Filter Categories

About The Author

British Swimming

British Swimming is the National Governing Body for Swimming, Diving, Synchronised Swimming, Water Polo and Open Water in Great Britain. It is responsible internationally for the high performance representation of the sport.

Water Polo: Brits Finished Third in Euro Qualifiers

The British Gas GBR Men’s Water Polo team finished a credible third place in the first round of the LEN European Championship Qualifying tournament.

The Brits kicked off their campaign on Thursday, falling 12-3 (3-0, 6-1, 1-0, 2-2) to Georgia before bouncing back with an 11-3 (3-1, 3-1, 4-0, 1-1) defeat of Poland on Friday.

The team followed that with a 17-4 victory over Czech Republic on Saturday. 

In their final game of the tournament, the team produced a well constructed game plan to draw 5-5 (2-0, 1-1, 1-3, 1-1) with an experienced Slovakian team to finish in third place overall.

Captain Craig Figes was pleased with the team’s overall performance. 

“After a very disappointing start in our first game against Georgia, we played better and better throughout the tournament,” said Figes. “We finished with a very good performance against a strong and experienced Slovakian team. 

“If we build on our last performance for the next round then we can beat any team in the qualification pool and have a good chance of progressing to the 2014 Europeans.”

Fixtures and Results

4th April - Georgia 12 - 3 Great Britain (3-0, 6-1, 1-0, 2-2), (GB scorers: Curwen, Waller, Vincent)

5th April - Poland 3 - 11 Great Britain (3-1, 3-1, 4-0, 1-1), (GB scorers: Curwen 3, Figes 2, Waller 2, Parker 2, James, King)

6th April - Czech Republic 4 - 17 Great Britain (GB Scorers: Parker 4, Waller 3, Scholefield 3, James 2,  King 2, Figes, O'Regan, Curwen)

7th April - Slovakia v Great Britain 5-5 (GB Scorers: Waller 2, James, Curwen, Parker)

British Gas GBR Men's Water Polo Team at European Championship Qualifiers in Georgia

Adam Scholefield (Leeds) – Rotherham Metro  

Craig Figes (Bristol) – Bristol

Ciaran James (Lancaster) – Lancaster

Edward Scott (Bolton) – City of Manchester     

Jack Waller (Enfield) -    Invicta

Jake Vincent (Solihull) – Solihull           

Matthew Holland (Carshalton) – Sutton and Cheam        

Robert Parker (Cheltenham) – Cheltenham         

Sean King (Farnborough) - Invicta        

Sean Ryder (Nottingham) – City of Manchester 

Joe O’Regan (Oldham)– City of Manchester      

Chris Armstrong (Doncaster) – City of Sheffield

Tom Curwen (Lancaster) - Lancaster